Wuhan University-logo
Wuhan University

HOME > About us > Introduction of Wuhan University

School profile

Wuhan University is a key university directly under the administration of the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China. It is located in Wuhan, the capital of Hubei Province, and known as "the thoroughfare leading to nine provinces". The university features spectacular natural surroundings with the scenic Luojia Hill in it and the beautiful East Lake by its side. Its 346 hectares campus is wooded and green and has fragrant flowers everywhere all year-round. The buildings are in special architectural styles, magnificent and mansion looking. Therefore, Wuhan University is acknowledged as one of the most beautiful universities in the world.


The University dates back to Ziqiang Institute, which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong, governor of Hubei and Hunan Provinces in the late Qing Dynasty after the Qing Government approved his memorial to the throne. Later, its name changed several times before it was named National Wuhan University in July 1928. By the end of 1946, the university had six colleges, i.e., the colleges of liberal arts, law, sciences, engineering, agriculture, and medicine. Wuhan University had a glorious innovative tradition and enjoyed a very high academic prestige.


With the approval of the State Council of China, the new Wuhan University was founded on August 2nd, 2000 with the amalgamation of four first-rate universities original Wuhan University, Wuhan University of Hydraulic and Electrical Engineering, Wuhan Technical University of Surveying and Mapping, and Hubei Medical University. At present, Wuhan University has 34 schools in 6 faculties and 3 A-Level Grade Ⅲ affiliated hospitals, covering 12 areas, namely philosophy, Economics, Law, Education, Literature, History, Sciences, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Management, and Art, with 122 bachelor degree program, 342 master degree program, 248 doctoral degree programs, and 38 post-doctoral stations.


The University now has more than 50,000 students, including 29738 undergraduates, 26073 graduates, and 2537 foreign students. The teaching staff consists of more than 3,700 teachers, including 2,700 or so professors and associate professors, 11 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 7 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 3 academicians of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences, 10 well-known senior scholars of arts and social sciences, and 22 lead scientists of the National 973 Project.


There are several large well-equipped teaching buildings, laboratories, gymnasiums, sports grounds, swimming pools, archive buildings, and a specimen building. It has 5 state-level key laboratories, 2 national research centers of engineering, 7 national research centers for humanities and social sciences, 10 national bases for basic science talent development, 1 national education base for the cultural development of university students.


The prominence of education has won Wuhan University's worldwide reputation and booming international exchanges and cooperation in recent years. It has established cooperative relationships with more than 415 universities and research institutes in 45 countries and regions.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Wechat